Massachusetts Minimum Wage
As of January 1, 2015, the minimum wage in Massachusetts is as follows*:
MA MINIMUM WAGE: $9.00 per hour. See M.G.L. c. 151, Section 1 & 2.
MA SERVICE RATE: $3.00 per hour. See M.G.L. chapter 151, Section 7.
AGRICULTURAL RATE: $8.00 per hour. See M.G.L. chapter 151, Section 2A.
*The minimum wage rate will go up again in 2016 to $10.00/hour and in 2017 to $11.00/hour. The service rate will increase to $3.35 and to $3.75, respectively.
For information about filing a Minimum Wage complaint, follow this link or call the Fair Labor Hotline at (617) 727-3465.
For further information about the Minimum Wage Law, go here or contact the Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards, which administers the Minimum Wage Law, at (617) 626-6952 or visit www.mass.gov/dols.
Earned Sick Time in Massachusetts
As of July 1, 2015, all employers with more than 10 employees will be required to allow all employees who work in Massachusetts to accrue and use up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per calendar year. If employers have less than 10 employees, workers will earn 40 hours of unpaid sick leave.
For more information on earned sick time, go here.